Skip to content

Hen Basket

December 19, 2010

Here’s a more complex (though about equally as irritating) example of a ribbed basket. This is a traditional 19th-century basket that actually would have been used to transport a hen!

The frame on this one consists of three rings lashed together at the top. The straight piece is simply a temporary brace to keep the two outer rings apart as I weave.

Frame

The ribs run alongside the rings and are secured where the three are joined. At first, only two ribs are added.

beginning of weaving

More ribs are added as the weaving continues! Here’s the basket with all the ribs (finally) added.

all ribs added

As the weaving closes in much faster on the small rings than the large one, lots of filling in is necessary, just like with the key basket. Turning around on various ribs allows me to avoid the small rings for a while until everything evens out.

filling in

Here it is with the weaving almost done… it’s tough to squeeze in those last couple of rows!

Almost done

Finished shots… I love this basket a lot even though it was a bit frustrating to make!  It was my first try at this exact style, so I’m sure it would be easier if I did it again.

Finished top

Finished side

53 Comments leave one →
  1. Liz permalink
    December 19, 2010 10:14 pm

    SHUT UP!! was this kind really used to transport hens?! what do you need to transport hens for?! where do you bring the hens, like on a walk…?? what ensures that the hens stay in the basket rather than jump out?? NINA, i have so many questions about this basket!! very cool.

  2. December 20, 2010 5:28 am

    The coolest basket so far, I think. Does the recipient get a hen, also?

  3. April 24, 2011 12:41 pm

    A really good friend of mine is looking for a double hen basket. She says that it was designed to transport two hens at a time. do they exist and if so ummm… where do I find one?

  4. June 6, 2012 2:03 pm

    Just to let you know your web-site looks a little bit unusual on Safari on my notebook with Linux .

  5. June 20, 2012 9:42 am

    An cool post right there mate . Thank you for the post .

  6. June 20, 2012 10:26 pm

    This blog site has got a lot of very helpful stuff on it! Cheers for informing me.

  7. June 21, 2012 10:40 pm

    When I at first commented I clicked the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and currently every time a remark is added I receive 4 emails with the identical comment.

  8. June 22, 2012 9:15 pm

    Hey there, I just hopped over to your site thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might usually read, but I enjoyed your thoughts none the less. Thanks for making some thing well worth reading through.

  9. June 22, 2012 9:25 pm

    Hi, I just hopped over to your web site using StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would typically read, but I appreciated your views none the less. Thanks for making some thing worthy of reading through.

  10. account permalink
    June 23, 2012 5:44 pm

    Brilliant, cheers, I will visit again later!

  11. June 24, 2012 3:00 pm

    Is it okay to place part of this on my personal webpage if perhaps I submit a reference to this web-site?

    • Nina permalink*
      June 28, 2012 5:36 pm

      Please link back to this website from your personal webpage rather than reproducing content… thank you for your interest and support!

  12. June 26, 2012 9:34 am

    Hey there, I just hopped over to your site via StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might typically browse, but I appreciated your thoughts none the less. Thank you for creating some thing worth browsing.

  13. June 26, 2012 3:30 pm

    How did you make this blog site look this cool! Email me if you get the chance and share your wisdom. Id be thankful!

  14. June 27, 2012 2:30 am

    How come you do not have your site viewable in mobile format? Can not see anything in my iPhone.

  15. June 29, 2012 8:49 am

    If you dont mind, where do you host your site? I am shopping for a good host and your webpage appears to be fast and up most the time

  16. buy fridge freezer permalink
    June 29, 2012 11:34 pm

    This website is pretty good! How did you make it !

  17. June 30, 2012 2:37 pm

    Just to let you know your website appears a little bit different on Firefox on my computer using Linux .

  18. July 1, 2012 9:29 pm

    If you dont mind, where do you host your blog? I am hunting for a very good web host and your weblog appears to be quick and up almost all the time

  19. July 2, 2012 12:22 am

    This website is very cool. How can I make one like this .

  20. July 3, 2012 4:19 am

    Do you might have a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your scenario; we now have created some nice techniques and were looking to trade solutions with other people, be certain to blast me an e-mail if interested.

  21. July 4, 2012 2:59 am

    I have got 1 suggestion for your blog site. It appears like at this time there are a handful of cascading stylesheet problems while launching a number of webpages inside google chrome as well as internet explorer. It is functioning fine in internet explorer. Possibly you can double check that.

  22. July 5, 2012 10:10 pm

    I experimented with viewing your blog on my ipod touch and the format doesnt seem to be correct. Might want to check it out on WAP as well as it seems most smartphone layouts are not really working with your site.

  23. July 5, 2012 10:24 pm

    Good Stuff, do you have a facebook profile?

  24. July 6, 2012 6:50 am

    Could you email me with a few hints on how you made your blog look this awesome, I would be thankful!

  25. July 7, 2012 7:53 am

    Nearly all of the remarks on this blog dont make sense.

  26. July 7, 2012 3:12 pm

    Although I truly like this post, I believe there was an punctuational error close to the end with the third paragraph.

  27. July 7, 2012 9:21 pm

    Just to let you know your blog appears a little bit different on Firefox on my laptop with Linux .

  28. July 8, 2012 2:43 pm

    I tried looking at your web site with my blackberry and the design does not seem to be right. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most smartphone layouts are not really working with your web site.

  29. July 9, 2012 10:18 am

    How come you dont have your web site viewable in wap format? cant view anything in my iPhone.

  30. July 9, 2012 8:55 pm

    When I open up your Feed it seems to be a lot of nonsense, is the issue on my side?

  31. July 9, 2012 11:12 pm

    Is it alright to put a portion of this on my web site if perhaps I submit a reference point to this web site?

  32. July 10, 2012 3:38 am

    Please email me with any tips on how you made this blog look this good, I would appreciate it!

  33. July 10, 2012 9:50 pm

    Just to let you know your web-site looks a little bit unusual in Safari on my notebook with Linux .

  34. July 11, 2012 11:34 am

    Heya, I just hopped over to your web site through StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would generally browse, but I appreciated your thoughts none the less. Thanks for making something well worth reading.

  35. July 12, 2012 10:06 am

    Weird , this page turns up with a dark color to it, what shade is the primary color on your site?

  36. July 12, 2012 2:56 pm

    If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your website? I am looking for a good quality web host and your weblog seams to be extremely fast and up just about all the time

  37. July 12, 2012 9:37 pm

    Whenever I initially commented I clicked the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and now each and every time a remark is added I get four email messages with the exact same comment.

  38. July 12, 2012 11:22 pm

    Oh man. This blog site is sick! How do you make it look this good !?

  39. July 13, 2012 3:26 am

    Strange , this post turns up with a black color to it, what shade is the primary color on your site?

  40. July 13, 2012 3:42 am

    After I start your Rss feed it appears to be to be a lot of junk, is the problem on my side?

  41. July 13, 2012 10:37 am

    I have got one idea for your site. It seems like at this time there are a few cascading stylesheet issues while opening a selection of webpages in google chrome and opera. It is operating alright in internet explorer. Perhaps you can double check this.

  42. July 13, 2012 10:32 pm

    Strange , your posting turns up with a black hue to it, what color is the primary color on your web site?

  43. July 13, 2012 10:40 pm

    Do youve got a spam issue on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was asking yourself your situation; we now have created some good techniques and were looking to swap options with other individuals, be sure to shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  44. July 14, 2012 8:26 am

    Im having a little problem. I cant get my reader to pick up your feed, Im using msn reader by the way.

  45. July 14, 2012 9:24 pm

    extremely useful stuff, all in all I imagine this is worthy of a bookmark, thanks a lot

  46. July 15, 2012 9:23 pm

    Have you considered adding several social bookmarking links to these sites. At the very least for twitter.

  47. July 16, 2012 1:33 pm

    This website has got some very helpful information on it! Cheers for informing me!

  48. July 16, 2012 3:32 pm

    I feel one of your current ads caused my web browser to resize, you may well need to get that on your blacklist.

  49. July 16, 2012 3:35 pm

    Good Stuff, do you currently have a youtube account?

  50. July 16, 2012 10:11 pm

    The majority of of the comments on this site dont make sense.

  51. July 16, 2012 10:22 pm

    Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Rss feed is not working today. I tried adding it to my Bing reader account and got nothing.

Trackbacks

  1. Hen baskets | UsDatingAcademy

Leave a Reply

