Skip to content

Small, shaped basket

November 29, 2010

To make this basket unique I decided to give it a special shape. Shaping baskets takes persistence and doesn’t always turn out exactly the way you want it to!

I started with a very small base, and then allowed the sides of the basket to flare out as I wove. This can be accomplished by weaving loosely or by pulling out on the stakes after each row.

Allowing sides to flare

Squeezing the tops of the stakes together helps me imagine the desired shape.  I added some color at the apex of the curve. (Also I just got my toes done, they’re cute right?)

Determining the curve

To make the basket more narrow toward the top, I pulled tightly as I weaved and bent the stakes inward. I wanted the curve to be a little more dramatic, but I am still happy with the shape. Finished basket after the jump!

Finished basket

5 Comments leave one →
  1. mike pease permalink
    November 29, 2010 8:40 pm

    Nina, I can’t get enough of these baskets! will you make me one for my new house?

  2. Liz permalink
    November 29, 2010 10:52 pm

    your toes are about are adorable as your baskets. ha! and they also match your nails nicely 😉

  3. Morgan permalink
    November 30, 2010 7:25 pm

    I love your baskets. Just saying

  4. Maeve permalink
    December 2, 2010 10:15 pm

    I really like this one, very cute

Trackbacks

  1. Basketry 101: Materials « Case of Baskets!

Leave a Reply

