Skip to content

Hearth Basket (Monstrously big!)

November 26, 2010

Everyone is in luck today, because my wonderful friend Zach is visiting and he agreed not only to hang around while I made a basket but also to take a lot of pictures of me doing it!  I decided to make a hearth basket, which sits by the fireplace and is ideal for holding kindling.

For this basket, I started with a pre-made D-ring which serves as a stake and also the handle. Here’s me laying out the stakes.

 

 

I had to work at the kitchen table because this basket is so big.  Here I weave the rest of the stakes to form the bottom.

Weaving of the sides starts:

 

This basket will have sloped sides, so the weaving only goes all the way around for a few rows. Then, I start weaving each side independent of the other. (PS ignore the double chin, I always have it when I’m weaving because I’m looking down!)

 

 

Here, I fold down the excess of each stake in a process called “downstaking”

 

To finish off, I lash on the rim:

 

Final picture!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Liz permalink
    November 26, 2010 9:10 pm

    ooo, love the rim!

Trackbacks

  1. Basketry 101: Materials « Case of Baskets!

Leave a Reply

